01
May
09

img_0361

 …Unto everyone of you We appointed a [different] law and way of life. And if God had so willed He could surely have made you all one single community: but [He willed it otherwise] in order to test you by means of what He has vouchsafed unto you. Vie, then, with one another in doing good works! Unto God you all must return; and then He will make you truly understand all that on which you were wont to differ.

Al – MA’IDAH (48)

 

FRIENDSHIP  LINKS

It’s so important to have friends!

No – I don’t mean people that you say hello to at KL’s numerous functions or social circles! Public affairs or private happenings! Corporate awards or business forums! Books launches or product promotions! Religious classes or meditation groups!

OOPS – how could I leave out the endless stream of weddings, engagements, cukur jambul, anniversary and birthday bashes!

KL people are indeed very sociable and there’s not a week or weekend that passes when one can have time to oneself, for oneself, by oneself  to do the things that one really likes – which may be just NOTHING!  

Lately I’ve begun to question the good of all these gatherings? The importance? The relevance? The meaning? The worth?

When meetings are short and fleeting one has neither the time nor inclination to be earnest and serious and so the interactions are quick and the topics of conversation superficial! Or uninteresting!  Or gossipy! Or flighty! Or careless! Or slanderous!   

Not that I’m a hermit or want to be one! I’m no saint or sage either! I’m hardly a scholar or clever academician needing precious time to come up with this one special theory of meaning and translation! I’m no mad scientist gyrating in my basement lab or ivory tower, hoping my corpus/ corpse will reveal the most sensational  results! I’m no recluse!

But I do enjoy precious time with myself! I do cherish my own company if only with a couch potato! I revel in aloneness!

HOWEVER I do so love the company of  good friends that I can have a few repartees with! With whom I can chill or thaw out the depths of  joy or despair! For whom I’m prepared to test my cooking skills and impart my hospitality! By whom I can be given the most playful teasings or the sternest reminders!

Friendship does mean sincerity and honesty; spontaneity and naturalness; mutual respect and trust! Friendship gives one the privilege of being oneself without all the acquired affectations!

Last night I renewed one friendship chain! I strengthened one secure bond! I reinforced one unity circuit!

And the beautiful thing was that the sojourn took place via Seremban, Negeri Sembilan and Cortona,Tuscany and Regents Park, London!

4 Responses to “”


  1. May 2, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Hi Halimah, Dropped into your blog via MMRantings. Remember our days in UMLIC? You are welcome to visit mine… Keep in touch. Fareeda

  2. 2 ninitalk
    May 2, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Of course Fareeda!

    We were the pioneers of KPIs and quality and all things good in UM!
    We had exemplary mentors and colleagues who believed in performance and excellence and honour and integrity which came with years of hard work!

    Today it’s quick fixes and instant promotions! Need I say more!

    Salams and keep in blog touch OK!

  3. May 3, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Now I realise what a groovy person and a treasure trove you are. The last conversation we had, I was a bit restrained. Oh, there’s so much I want to learn from you, if I get another chance.

  4. 4 ninitalk
    May 4, 2009 at 11:39 am

    What a compliment especially the “groovy” bit!

    But as I tell myself again and again, I must not be an old geek trying to be a young fart! Just sharing my experiences!

    I’m sure we’ll meet again Insya Allah!


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Pages


